YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Style. Sabotage. Sisterhood.

    When Cate and Andie Sloane’s Upper East Side dad met Stella and Lola Childs’s British-model mom, nobody thought a transatlantic relationship would last. But then their parents drop the M-bomb—marriage—and it looks like Cate, Andie, Stella, and Lola are going to be one big happy family. Well, big anyway. Meet:

    Cate Sloane:
    She dominates the ninth grade at exclusive Ashton Prep. Tantrum-prone and competitive, Cate would rather wear Laura Ashley every day than be second best at anything. Luckily there’s not a rival in sight. Yet.

    Andie Sloane: Twelve-year-old Andie desperately wants to walk the runway. Her face is flawless, and boys flock to her like love-struck sheep. There’s just one leetle problem: She’s only 4′ 11″. But with a new supermodel stepmom, she’ll be voguing in no time. Right?

    Stella Childs: With her take-charge attitude and a closet full of supermodel swag, Stella was the It Girl at her London middle school. She’s determined to rule Ashton Prep—even if that means dethroning the current queen bee. Can you say British Invasion?

    Lola Childs: London boys called gawky Lola “Sticks,” but she’s got a new mission in Manhattan: boyfriend or bust! With the help of her boy-magnet stepsister, Lola sets her sights on supercute Kyle Lewis. Too bad Kyle’s only got eyes for . . . Andie.

This book is a combination of Gossip Girl + The Clique + The Ashleys. Frankly speaking, I loved it more than The Clique. Sure, three years ago The Clique was my fave books but now Massie and the constant fighting among the girls is getting annoying.

There are designer brands on almost every page, from Marc Jacobs to Diane von Furstenberg to Prada. If you are not a materialistic person, you probably would not like the book as much because there are so many designer names. I personally enjoy reading them. The book was fast paced and I loved every minute of it. There is plenty of drama and excitement throughout the book. I also liked how the book was rotated from the different point of views. I have absolutely no problems with this book and definitely looking forward to the sequel, Survival of the Fiercest. Anna Carey has done a fantastic job capturing the thoughts and emotions of these girls. Sloane Sisters would definitely appeal to girls between 12-15.

Move over Clique, Sloane Sisters is the new IT.

Get Sloane Sisters by Anna Carey today. Visit sloanesisters.com!

Gold star!

Comments on: "Sloane Sisters by Anna Carey" (7)

  1. Callie (Handle Like Hendrix) said:

    Grear review! I agree the Clique is getting more and more over the top. I still like them though. Sloane Sisters was pretty good, and I love fashion so that was good as well.

  2. I haven’t read any of those series’ before but Sloane Sister’s sounds interesting.

  3. Your review was well done and I enjoyed gossip girl but disliked Clique. So I may pick this up at some point, kind of on the borderline with this one.

  4. This series looks good, but it reminds me of my tween The Clique days. I think I’ll be checking this one out of my library so I’m not stuck with a really tween-y book that I wouldn’t enjoy very much.

    hope.

  5. I’m not really a materialistic person, so those designer labels will mean absolutely nothing to me LOL. Even so, it does sound an interesting read and I have heard this book mentioned around the web a few times. Might check it out 😉

  6. I’m going to pass on this series. It sounds like it would be read by younger teens.

Leave a Reply

