YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

While on vacation in California, sixteen-year-old best girlfriends Anna and Frankie conspire to find a boy for Anna’s first summer romance, but Anna harbors a painful secret that threatens their lighthearted plan and their friendship.

Beautifully written and emotionally honest, this is a debut novel that explores what it truly means to love someone and what it means to grieve, and ultimately, how to make the most of every single moment this world has to offer.

Twenty Boy Summer is a book I waited so long for. But the wait is finally over! I got my hands on TBS and finished it within two days. The plot was good, similar to Sarah Dessen’s books, but unique in it’s own way. Anna was a strong person and very likable. Readers will sympathize with her as she struggles to get on with life. Frankie is the best friend who has no idea what happened between Anna and Matt. Throughout the summer, Anna wrestles conflicting feelings, should she tell Frankie about Matt? Is it possible to cheat on a ghost? Sarah Ockler’s an amazing writer, she has written an emotional and heartbreaking book set in gorgeous California. It’s definitely something I will definitely read again.

Told in Anna’s POV, Twenty Boy Summer is a story about first love, death, friendship, remembering and ultimately letting go. A wonderfully written debut, you have to read this book! Buy it today on Amazon!

Gold star

Comments on: "Twenty Boy Summer by Sarah Ockler" (13)

  1. Nice Review!
    Im having a contest for this book!
    You should check out my blog!
    http://lizdoglover.blogspot.com/

    Cant wait to read it myself!

  2. Good review :o) We’re building a soundtrack for TBS over at IHm this week, you should totally check it out! http://www.iheartmonster.com/2009/07/create-soundtrack-twenty-boy-summer-by.html

  3. harmonybookreviews said:

    I also got this in the mail the other day and started immediately. I LOVE it. Can’t wait for Sarah’s next book!

  4. towerofbooks said:

    I received this book the other day. I haven’t started it yet, but it looks amazing.

  5. great review. A friend recommended this book to me.I’m still waiting to read it.

  6. Great review. This is the first review of twenty Boy Summer I’ve read and I like it. It definitely made me want to read this book.

  7. TBS has had some great reviews and your review also endorses it. I’m really interested in reading this one. I like the cover and the heart they used.

  8. This book is AMAZING. I cannot wait to read more by Ockler in the future.

    hope.

  9. Want. Book. Now. I adore the cover for this one and have heard really good things about it. Your review has made me want to snuggle up in bed and devour it now! *sighs and scribbles it on my list*

  10. I’ve heard great things about this book and finally got a copy from amazon. I can’t wait to read it myself

  11. Can’t wait to read this, it’s on my TBR list.

  12. This book has been on my wishlist ever since it came out. Brilliant cover.

Leave a Reply

