YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

When Abbey’s best friend, Kristen, vanishes at the bridge near Sleepy Hollow Cemetery, everyone else is all too quick to accept that Kristen is dead…and rumors fly that her death was no accident. Abbey has never felt so desperately alone. Then she meets Caspian, the gorgeous and mysterious boy who shows up out of nowhere at Kristen’s funeral, and keeps reappearing in Abbey’s life. Caspian clearly has secrets of his own, but he’s the only person who makes Abbey feel normal again…but also special.

Just when Abbey starts to feel that she might survive all this, she learns a secret that makes her question everything she thought she knew about her best friend. How could Kristen have kept silent about so much? And could this secret have led to her death? As Abbey struggles to understand Kristen’s betrayal, she uncovers a frightening truth that nearly unravels her—one that will challenge her emerging love for Caspian, as well as her own sanity.

Initially I did not want to post my review so early but since everyone is excited about Hollow, I decided to post it earlier. The moment I finished reading the first chapter on Jessica’s website, I was hooked! I wanted to know more, more about Abbey and Kristen. I was lucky enough to get an ARC for The Hollow a few weeks later.

When I finished reading The Hollow, my first thought was Oh My God. It was so freaking good absolutely wonderful! I was very impressed by Jessica’s writing. Her descriptions were very vivid. Here’s a teaser (nothing spoilerish):

He was wearing a seventies-style brown paisley shirt that did not flatter this portly frame in any way and, unfortunately already bore the faint marking of a sweat patch under each arm. (pg 56)

Maulsoleums and crypts, with faded names that I knew by heart, rose majestically from the earth. Their outsides, although ravaged by the effects of time, still provided a safe place for the bodies that rested inside, and I nodded my head as a sign of respect to those once graceful homes of the departed. (pg 71)

His smile was breathtaking, and heartbreaking, all at the same time. (pg 120)

Hope you enjoyed the teasers. 😉 You can see how much I love Jessica’s writing! She’s a really good writer. I was quite surprised to learn that Abbey made perfumes. I wasn’t expecting that but I found it really cool. Makes her character very unique from all the others that I have read.

As this book is the first book in a trilogy, there will be unanswered questions. Definitely makes readers want the second book once you’re done with the first.

I’m trying to make my review spoiler free so I will keep this short. The Hollow is definitely a book you do not want to miss. A must read! The next two books in the trilogy come out in 2010 and 2011. I can’t wait! The Hollow comes out September 1 2009. Preorder it now on Amazon or Barnes & Noble. Visit Jessica Verday’s blog and Lee Verday’s blog as well.

Gold star!

Check out this video of my Hollow collection. 😛 Just basically shows my ARC of The Hollow, UK cover and the Goods.

Click here to view my video! 😀

I LOVE the music. Don’t you? Let me know what you think of the video!

Comments on: "The Hollow by Jessica Verday" (15)

  1. Luck you to get an ARC of this book.. I really want to read this.. I can’t wait until my library gets it. I put a bug in their ear to watch for it. 🙂

  2. Stunning review. Thanks so much. And I love LOVE the video. That music really adds something!

  3. I can’t believe Jess commented on your blog! *squeals* Love your review! It’s fantastic, especially where you didn’t give away a lot. I loved Caspian, which is weird right? Nahhh. 😛

  4. *jealous* you’ve gotten to read this already! Really looking forward to The Hollow!!! Now maybe even more. Awesome review!

  5. where do you get these coveted ARCs?! lol.

    Ooooh@Liyana’s comment. The author herself! That’s so freaking awesome! 🙂

  6. Great review,I look forward to reading it

  7. Great review. I love descriptive writing. I have this book on my shelf and I cannot wait to read it.

  8. I want the hollow but other books seem to always come a little bit before this one. I love the name Caspian though, and it sound so intriguing. Nice review

  9. I’ve seen very mixed reviews about this book… however, I have it right now for the 1 ARC Tour, so I’ll be reading it soon.. I hope I like it as much as you did!

    hope.

  10. Gah, super slow internet, will have to watch the video later! But I SO want to read this!! I think those teasers sold me 😀 Ohh… the first chapter is up on the website? Awesome! I’ll go have a read… then order the book. Then wait ever so impatiently for the second one to be released. Yeah, I already know I’ll like/love it 🙂

  11. Nice review. I’ve seen mixed reviews for this book but I still want to read it to see if I like it.

  12. Wow, this must be good. I’d better bunch it up a few notches on the neverending TBR pile. lol.

Leave a Reply

