YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

High school senior Teresa Adams is so painfully shy that she dreads speaking to anyone in the hallways or getting called on in class. But in the privacy of her bedroom with her iPod in hand, she rocks out — doing mock broadcasts for Miami’s hottest FM radio station, which happens to be owned by her stepfather. When a slot opens up at The SLAM, Tere surprises herself by blossoming behind the mike into confident, sexy Sweet T — and to everyone’s shock, she’s a hit! Even Gavin, the only guy in school who she dares to talk to, raves about the mysterious DJ’s awesome taste in music. But when The SLAM announces a songwriting contest — and a prom date with Sweet T is the grand prize — Sweet T’s dream could turn into Tere’s worst nightmare….

I think this review will be a short one because I love the book and only had one minor problem with it. Teresa is a very shy girl and I can often relate to her feelings. However Tere often listens to the radio and ‘broadcasts’ in her room. When she is given the opportunity to be a intern at the radio station, after much coaxing from her one and only friend, Audrey, she signs up. She gains confidence over time and people start calling in asking about her. I love reading books in which the main character is a shy person so I really enjoyed Shrinking Violet.

I like the whole romance with Gavin except for one teeny problem.

SPOILER ALERT!

I’m warning you!

Tere and Gavin kiss but after that, no one talks about it! Tere doesn’t think about the kiss. Assuming that it’s her first kiss, she should at least daydream about it or wonder did it really happen? But no, nothing. The only evidence that they were closer now because of the kiss was when Gavin squeezed her hands before the presentation. I have talked to Danielle about this and this is her response:

Thanks for sharing. I don’t think Tere would feel comfortable talking about it with Gavin just yet. Since it’s the end of the book there is not much time for reflection but I see what you’re saying. Noted for future first kisses:).

I kind of the guessed the part where there was no time for reflection.

SPOILER ENDS!

Overall Shrinking Violet is a great read about a girls journey from being a shrinking violet to discovering herself. If you and your iPod are like peanut butter and jelly you will probably like this book. A light witty read, recommended to girls who like books on discovering yourself and overcoming shyness.

Silver star

Disney Channel has bought film rights for Shrinking Violet! Woo hoo! Congrats Danielle! =D

Comments on: "Shrinking Violet by Danielle Joseph" (6)

  1. This is a book I know I would enjoy reading. Thanks for the review, it was good.

  2. This one seems cute and relate able I skipped the spoiler because I would likt to read it and be surprised or annoyed as the case maybe.

  3. I can totally relate to her with being shy. Although I can very loud and comfortable with people I know, there’s a part of me that completely clams up around some people and in public places. Shrinking Violet sounds like an awesome read. Yay for Disney buying the screen rights!! I have to read this before it hits the big screen 😀

  4. I can’t remember properly, but I think I was painfully shy when I was younger well anyway, YES to reading this book. I cannot wait.

  5. I heard that this book was really good so will have to get myself a copy soon.

  6. I’m not reading the spoilery section because I haven’t read the book. Still, this must be a very nice book. Lovely cover, too.

Leave a Reply

