YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

In My Mailbox (13)

Hi guys! This week was alright. I received one book in the mail on Thursday.

Without further ado, here is what arrived in my mailbox this week:

Donut Days by Lara Zielin

    Emma has a lot going on. Her best friend’s not speaking to her, a boy she’s known all her life is suddenly smokin’ hot and in love with her, and oh yes, her evangelical minister parents may lose their church, especially if her mother keeps giving sermons saying Adam was a hermaphrodite.
    But this weekend Emma’s only focused on Crispy Dream, a hot new donut franchise opening in town, where Harley bikers and Frodo wannabes camp out waiting to be the first ones served. Writing the best feature story on the camp for the local paper might just win Emma a scholarship to attend a non- Christian college. But soon enough Emma finds the donut camp isn’t quite the perfect escape from all her troubles at Living Word Redeemer.

    In a fresh, funny voice, newcomer Lara Zielin offers up a mesmerizing, fast-paced narrative full of wit and insight.

YAY!!!! I’ve been waiting for this since March!

Signed bookplate from Sydney Salter

Thanks both brilliant people.

From the bookstore

Beastly by Alex Flinn
I read that it was going to be made into a movie in which Mary-Kate Olsen and Vanessa Hudgens will star in it. I was curious and looked up the synopsis. It sounded quite good. I happened to spot it at the bookstore and thought, why not? I really enjoyed it.

So Not Happening by Jenny B. Jones
I thought this book sounded very good the first time I read the synopsis. I read two chapters of it and I know that this will be a great book.

Oh. My. Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs
I loved it so much that I had to buy the paperback for myself.

This is how I show my love to these fabulous authors, by buying their books! 🙂

I know I promised to buy books last week but I didn’t go to the bookstore sadly. 😦 After a painful teeth extraction, I was unfit to go and buy books.

Comments on: "In My Mailbox (13)" (18)

  1. Great week! Happy reading Kate!

    -Senfaye 😀

  2. Interesting books! I’ve read Beastly and at first didn’t like it, but by the end I thought it was pretty good. So Not Happening looks good too. I’ll have to look it up later.

  3. That So Not Happening book has really caught my interest. I have it on my wishlist already and I think I’ll have to buy both that one and the next one.

    I suddenly have this craving for powdered donuts now…mmmm.

  4. Beastly has my attention lately. Enjoy lara’s book. Can’y wait to read it.

  5. Oh My!! you had some great books this week. Out of all your books So Not Happening has really got my attention, the cover is just too darn cute for words and the synopsis has got my attention. I will have to check it out 🙂

  6. I think everyone got Oh.My.Gods this week!

  7. Awesome books you got this week. Donut Days looks really good. Enjoy.

  8. I really want to read Beastly.

    Do you have Sydney’s book? Contest on my blog if not, and the YA Book Carnival is live…so come and celebrat.

    -lauren

  9. Great Week! Enjoy your books!

  10. This is the second time i have seen Beastly around, I think I better give it a go!

  11. Callie (Handle Like Hendrix) said:

    I was about to get So Not Happening last week, the pig is soo cute. But I got a cd instead. Happy reading!

  12. towerofbooks said:

    Happy reading! Hehe, the cover of Donut Days makes me want to eat a donut. =P

  13. Great week! Waiting since March!??! Man, I’m really glad you got that book now =P Also, YAY for Beastly! And I’m dying to read Oh. My. Gods. Have fun with all of them!

  14. I really want to read Beastly! Mary Kate and Vanessa are a funny match so that grabs my curiosity instantly.

    Happy Reading!

    -Briana

  15. harmonybookreviews said:

    Beastly is getting made into a movie?!?

    Oh. My. Gods is really cute.

    Happy reading!

  16. I loved Donut Days!! I’m anxious to see what you think. Enjoy!!!

  17. They’re making Beastly into a movie!?! Wowzers! That’s awesome, cause I love the book. I hope you do too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

