YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Megan Frazer is the author of Secrets of Truth and Beauty, which will be published by Disney-Hyperion July 7 2009.

How did you get the idea of writing Secrets of Truth & Beauty?
I was watching Little Miss Sunshine, just in amazement of the behind the scenes pageant stuff. I’ve always been fascinated by that world, ever since I sat behind Little Miss New Hampshire at the Nutcracker one year. Anyway, I thought, “What would happen if one of those girls got fat?” and the idea took off from there. It ended up being about much more than that.

What is the best thing that has happened to you since you became a writer?
Since selling I’ve become part of a real community of writers, mostly with the 2009 Debutantes (www.feastofawesome.com), but through other venues, too. The YA world is so supportive and lively — I love it.

Where do you usually write?

Wherever — and whenever — I can! I’ll type on my laptop, I’ll write on scraps of paper. I wrote most of Secrets while commuting on a train. I think it’s a good thing that I don’t need to be in a specific place or atmosphere. However, I do like to go to new places to read over drafts. Somehow that does give me a new perspective.

What message do you want Secrets of Truth & Beauty to portray?
I didn’t set out for Secrets of Truth & Beauty to have a specific message. What I didn’t want to write was a book that was simply about either a) Dara losing a lot of weight or b) not losing the weight but gaining self-acceptance. I wanted her weight to be a circumstance, but not the point of the book. For me, her family issues were much more important.

Was it a difficult process getting your book published?
For me the process of submitting to agents was relatively painless because I was actually planning my wedding. My agent offered representation days before the wedding, so to say I was distracted is an understatement. Then the sale went fairly quickly. It was overwhelming because even though I had studied publishing a bit in school, it did feel like a new world. Now, as for what happened after the sale, that was difficult, but in a good way. I have a great editor at Disney-Hyperion, and she really helped me to get the book into shape, but it took a long time.

Are you currently working on anything?
Yep, but I’m one of those superstitious authors who doesn’t like to talk about works in process.

What was the craziest thing you ever done while in high school?
I plead the fifth!

What was your school life like at seventeen?

I was a really driven student, so school itself was a big focus of mine. I was definitely overextended: swim team, field hockey, class treasurer, peer outreach, community service. I was also really wrapped up in my friendships. It was a great group of friends, but of course we had our dramas, and I was kind of angsty, and was constantly over-analyzing things.

In what ways are you similar to Dara?
She is driven like I was, and I think she is sarcastic, but more to herself than out loud, and I am like that. People are surprised when I start to get more comfortable, and more sarcastic, with them.

If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Ooh! Sarah Cross (author of Dull Boy) asked me this, too, so I have thought about it a lot. I would like to have super, acrobatic fight skills. And to fly.

Remember to get your copy of Secrets of Truth and Beauty on July 7 or preorder it now!

CONTEST INFO

This contest is open WORLDWIDE.
Contest ends JULY 7 (release day!)
Anyone can enter, even if you don’t have a blog!

How to enter?
EDIT: Since very few people are entering, just comment below telling me what is the first thing that came to your mind when you saw the title of the book. Just like that you will be entered to win Secrets of Truth and Beauty.

If you do the emailing thing, you will automatically get bonus 5 entries! πŸ˜€

Email 5 friends about this contest and include my email as well (kate.readthisbook (at) gmail (dot) com) so you’ll send the email to 6 people in all.
Comment here once you emailed!

Format for the email
Subject: Secrets of Truth and Beauty by Megan Frazer CONTEST!
Message:

Hi, I think you might be interested in this contest over at Read This Book! It’s to win a signed copy of Secrets of Truth and Beauty by Megan Frazer and it’s open WORLDWIDE! And if there are more than 40 people entering, there will be Twilight bookmarks thrown in to 8 lucky people!

https://readthisbook.wordpress.com/2009/06/19/interview-with-megan-frazer-contest/

Have a nice day!

Don’t forget to leave a link to my blog!

If we have over 40 people entering, I will throw in some nice goodies like Twilight bookmarks to 8 lucky people! So spread the word!

Comments on: "Interview with Megan Frazer + contest" (28)

  1. I was a joiner too, and VERY overextended at 17! A bit like now, ha!

  2. Secrets of Truth and Beauty kinda reminds me of Life in the FAT Lane by Cherie Bennett. Sounds like a good book.

  3. this is a book I would have like to read when I was 17. Sounds good. count me in.

  4. linnahsu said:

    I think it would be a light read. Something about a girl trying to prove herself. In fact, Ugly Betty came into my mind. Dunno why. lol
    Please do count me in.
    linna.hsu(at)gmail(dot)com

  5. To be honest, the first thing that came to mind upon seeing the title was probably “Hmmmm…” Pretty sleep-deprived right now, so not exactly super-coherent, but still! lol, sounds like a fun book, count me in thanks!

  6. Count me in please. I will e-mail it to 5 people.. Be looking for an e-mail from me. πŸ™‚

    lovestoread0708(at)yahoo(dot)com

  7. I just sent the e-mail. Can you please e-mail me back at lovestoread0708(at)yahoo(dot)com . This is my book blog, the e-mail I sent the e-mails to is my family e-mail that I use for non book stuff. ..
    Thanks so much!

  8. I totally forgot what to write about the book cover.. Sorry for so many posts..

    The first thing that I thought of for the title of the book was some kind of medical procedure. Nose job, breast implants. Kind of how celebs hide their procedures, that’s what I thought the title looked like..

  9. When I heard the title I think of like models or celebrities learning about the real meaning beauty.

    This book looks really good I can’t wait to read it.

    Megan
    bookworm8675309@yahoo.com

  10. The title actually first reminded me of a magazine headline for an article exposing the problems in the makeup industry.

    It sounds fabulous.

  11. Truth and Beauty, from the title sounds like a inspirational book. Sorry, thats the way I felt πŸ™‚

    But yes, after second thoughts it makes sense that it could be on a beauty pageant. So much better.

    elizascott2005 at yahoo dot co dot in

  12. The first thing I though of was A Great and Terrible Beauty. I’m always linking titles in my mind when I see them. This looks pretty good though~

    teensatthelibrary(@)yahoo.com

  13. The first thing that came to my mind was how a person can be so different inside out from what he/she looks like outside…something like that.
    Sent 5 mails…check your inbox. 6 entries in total YAY!

  14. When I saw the title for the first time, I first thought that it was a self help book for ugly liars. Well, that’s not completely true, because I knew it was fiction. When I processed that, I started to make up a summary in my head. At that time, for me, it was about a geekish, dorky, friendless girl who somehow, through a ancient magical Guatemalan ritual, discovers the secret to always being beautiful….and knowing the truth about everything. And with this knowledge she takes over her high school. She conquers easily, and rules the school like a dictator. But in the end, she realizes that the good grades and popularity weren’t worth the number of sheep and giant turtles she had to sacrifice to achieve it. And, to give it a moral, she’d realize that being a friendless dork who’s also geekish is better than being something she’s not. The truth is that real beauty is being yourself.

    But, that’s not right! When I read the real summary I wasn’t surprised that I was wrong. My story was kinda crazy….but who’d read that anyways. I’m really excited for this version though…even if it doesn’t have ancient magical Guatemalan rituals involving the sacrifice of sheep and giant turtles.

    Thanks,
    booklovergal12@hotmail.com

  15. I guess I thought it’d be a fun, light read. πŸ™‚

    I don’t like to email people about contests, but I posted about it here. http://bookcontestlinks.blogspot.com/2009/06/june-25th-2009.html

    Laina1312@gmail.com

  16. I thought of the Disney movie “Beauty and the Beast”. πŸ˜€

    Izaya at hotmail dot de

  17. It’s gonna be fun to read i guess coz well the title doesn’t seem like anything boring. In fact it looks kinda interesting and I am really looking forward to reading a good book. πŸ™‚
    Do count me in please.

    and oh yeah.I’ve emailed it to 5 people and you πŸ˜€
    *joins Prodhi’s yayness! :P*

  18. The first thing I thought of when I saw the title was that it was something to do with self-image or image in general. That’s what intrigued me about this book. I had image issues for a lot of my life because of my weight and I have always loved reading books that deal with that. I like books I can relate too, so books like that, and family issues are books I can totally relate too.
    Please count me in.

    HarlequinTwilight@gmail.com

  19. And I posted a link to it on the sidebar of my blog because I don’t like emailing people about contests (most of my friends aren’t readers).
    http://www.harlequintwilightsbookblog.blogspot.com

  20. When I hear the title, I kind of think about north of beautiful and what message it had, so I think it’s a really really good book, considering the amount of great reviews I’ve been hearing about this book, so I really really hope I win! Thanks for holding this contest:)

    sylvia

  21. I thought it was an article about finding your inner beauty. Then I read the title properly. I think it’s going to be better than expected. πŸ˜€

  22. The first thing that came to mind is “teenage girls will flock to this title!”

    shelcows AT gmail DOT com

  23. I thought about beauty inside a person and not on the outside, when I seen the title. I would love to read this book! thanks!

  24. This book sounds good!
    Please Enter Me!!!

    Liz

    liztapioka14 [at] yahoo [dot] com

  25. When I saw the title, I thought Ooooo another Self Help Book!

    lesly7ch(at)yahoo(dot)com

  26. I’d love to enter the contest!

    Hmm, first thing that came to mind was that it’s about a pretty and popular girl who has a lot of insecurities.

    I e-mailed you and five other people.

    issa(dot)mojica(at)gmail(dot)com

  27. I thought about inner beauty and how it’s more important than outer beauty.

  28. I thought it would be something involving the rich and famous and/or reality tv.

    paradoxrevealed (at) aim (dot) com

Leave a Reply

