YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

It’s the end of junior year, and summer is about to begin. The Summer of Passion, to be exact, when Jory Michaels plans to explore all the possibilities of the future–and, with any luck, score a boyfriend in the process. But Jory has a problem. A big problem. A curvy, honking, bumpy, problem in the form of her Super Schnozz, the one thing standing between Jory and happiness. And now, with the Summer of Passion stretched before her like an open road, she’s determined for Super Schnozz to disappear. Jory takes a job delivering wedding cakes to save up for a nose job at the end of the summer; she even keeps a book filled with magazine cutouts of perfect noses to show the doctor. But nothing is ever easy for accident-prone Jory–and before she knows it, her Summer of Passion falls apart faster than the delivery van she crashes. In her hilarious and heartbreaking debut novel, Sydney Salter delivers a story about broadening your horizons, accepting yourself, and finding love right under your nose.

I hate to admit this but I was told by my own mother that I had a big nose. Imagine how much that affected my self esteem! So when I saw MBN&OND in the bookstore, I had to buy it. The book was very funny and in a way, Jory reminded me of Bella. Jory is really clumsy at times.

I felt that Jory’s best friend Megan wasn’t a very good friend when she started making flirty comments at a certain someone. What kind of friend flirts at a guy who she knows her best friend has a MAJOR crush on? That’s selfish and makes my blood boil! And there’s Jory’s mom. In the beginning, she was so vain and cared about her looks so much. but towards the end, you can see that Jory’s mom has changed which was quite believable. The rest of the characters were likable enough.

One thing that bugs me is that if…

SPOILER! BIG BIG SPOILER.

Read at your own risk

If the doctor did agree to do the nose job, Jory would probably get a new nose at the end of the book. I hope you get what I’m trying to say.

SPOILER ENDS!

My Big Nose was really funny, often I found myself laughing out loud (and receiving weird looks from strangers). My Big Nose and Other Natural Disasters is an ideal summer read. Sadly because of the sort of predictable plot, I had to give it a bronze star.

Bronze Star

Comments on: "My Big Nose and Other Natural Disasters by Sydney Salter" (5)

  1. I’m not all that interested in this kind of storyline especially if it were predictable. But I enjoyed your review.

  2. *scolds your mother* Small, big, skinny, fat, even an alien nose! PSH. It doesn’t matter what it looks like… as long as it can smell rain. Rain is so pretty. Ohh and freshly baked bread. Mmm. Freshly mowed grass too, ohh you gotta love the smell of BOOKS! Okay. Anyway, before I start rambling…. I like that the book makes you laugh. That’s an attention-grabber. I’d probably read this for, as you said, a light summer read (good thing summer starts next month!).

  3. I didn’t read your review b/c of the spoilers, but I do want to read this book!

  4. Nice review, look like a fun read.

  5. Love the title on this one. It reminds me of “The Erath, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things”, which I loved and would totally recommend to you, if you get the chance to read it.

Leave a Reply

