YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Alexis thought she led a typically dysfunctional high school existence. Dysfunctional like her parents’ marriage; her doll-crazy twelve-year-old sister, Kasey; and even her own anti-social, anti-cheerleader attitude.

When a family fight results in some tearful sisterly bonding, Alexis realizes that her life is creeping from dysfunction into danger. Kasey is acting stranger than ever: her blue eyes go green sometimes; she uses old-fashioned language; and she even loses track of chunks of time, claiming to know nothing about her strange behavior. Their old house is changing, too. Doors open and close by themselves; water boils on the unlit stove; and an unplugged air conditioner turns the house cold enough to see their breath in.

Alexis wants to think that it’s all in her head, but soon, what she liked to think of as silly parlor tricks are becoming life-threatening–to her, her family, and to her budding relationship with the class president. Alexis knows she’s the only person who can stop Kasey — but what if that green-eyed girl isn’t even Kasey anymore?

I totally love this book. I finished it in four hours, nonstop reading. It was so engrossing. I liked how Katie spent the first few chapters explaining why Alexis was anti social and life before she became an outcast. It gave me a better understanding of Alexis. Katie Alender’s writing is wonderful. Her descriptions are so vivid, I could picture everything in my mind so clearly. Oh boy, there’s a mystery too! Which was very well crafted. I like the chemistry between Carter and Alexis. They are a cute pair! I was also very supportive of Megan and Alexis teaming up from the start and throughout the book I was like “get together and defeat that ghost already!”. Readers would be surprised at how Megan is actually involved in the whole thing.

It is important for everything to fit perfectly in a story like this, we don’t want anything left unanswered. Katie Alender has accomplished that. Marvelous job Katie! Did you know that Bad Girls Don’t Die is Katie’s debut book? Wow!

Bad Girls Don’t Die is a mixture of a little of everything. Romance, ghosts, crazy sisters, dolls and cheerleaders. I recommend BGDD to everyone who likes ghost stories. So grab your copy of Bad Girls Don’t Die and snuggle up in your bed with your flashlight and a teddy bear. It will keep you up all night!

You can find Katie Alender on her website. Get your copy on Amazon today.

Bad Girls Don’t Die falls midway between a Silver star and a Gold star. But because the in between star doesn’t exist, I shall give a Gold star!

Comments on: "Bad Girls Don’t Die by Katie Alender" (12)

  1. I can’t wait to read this one – I have heard nothing but raves about it!

  2. Ooh, the gold star! Not going to complain about that. But I can help you make a half gold/half silver if you want (if you promise not to replace my gold star with it, LOL!).

    Thanks for the great review, Kate. It’s so cute that you were pulling for Megan and Alexis to work together. I felt that way, too… like, “Come on, you guys, just be friends already!”

  3. Ghosts, romance and crazy sisters?! I’m in! 😀
    Lol, thanks! *high-fives back* I definetely cannot wait for the sequel… How’d you find me, if you don’t mind me asking?

  4. I really want to read this one! Great review!

  5. I love creepy stories. This is a book that I would definitely like to read.

  6. I think I love this one already! Someone recommended the title to me a few days ago but I hadn’t had the chance to read about it yet. SO glad I did. I want this!!

  7. This sounds like a great paranormal book, which I love! I’ve seen this on the shelves @ B&N but never even picked it up for whatever reason. I def. wanna read it now though! Thank you for your review!

  8. Wow, this sounds just the right amount of creepy. Love the cover. My wishlist is expanding, once more. Your fault, lol.

  9. Great posting, I bookmarked your blog so I can visit again in the near future, Thanks, Delena Ero

  10. Jessica said:

    It was one of the best book I have read! I would recommend it to anyone even thought it has parts where it creeps you out its a great book. Awesome, I loved it! +great review!

  11. COOLKID1225 said:

    i like lobe this book its SSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOOOO AMAZING! FOR ANY ONE WHO LIKES LIKES MYSTERY BOOKS READ THIS ONE

Leave a Reply

