YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

To kick off June, I present to you MARLEY GIBSON!
What was your road to publication like?

Well…it was bumpy and had a lot of construction and detours, but I stayed on the road, gripping the wheel tightly and holding on for the ride…where ever it would take me. How’s that for a metaphor? LOL!! Seriously, though…it was rough. A lot of rejection. A lot. Two agents (one not so good; one very good) A lot of revisions and editorial letters and a lot of rewrites. Basically…I never gave up. Tenacity and perserverence will get you far!

Describe how you felt when you first saw the cover for Ghost Huntress.

Wow…I’m pretty sure I burst into tears. Not just because it’s sooooooo gorgeous and the artwork is fabulous, but because it has MY name on the cover. Made me feel very proud.

What was the hardest part of writing Ghost Huntress?

I have to say that it hasn’t been hard writing it at all. The characters are soooooo real to me. I see them like I can picture family and friends in my head. I guess the biggest challenge for me is that I work full-time and I have to make time in my schedule/life to write. The first two books flowed from me immediately, but I’ll admit it’s been hard finding time for the third book–that’s due in a couple of months–but I’ll get it done! = )

How long did it take for you to write Ghost Huntress?

I believe it took me 65 days of writing/editing. I banged it out pretty quickly because I saw the entire story in my head like a movie. It was very vivid to me and the characters’ voices really sang out to me. I believe I spent 55 writing days on GH2. We’ll see how it goes for GH3. =)

When did you begin to take interest in ghost hunting?

I became interested in ghost hunting after I came up with the idea for the series. I had no idea people actually went on ghost hunts. I had no idea there were TV shows out there featuring ghost hunters and the paranormal. I had no idea there were conventions and events where people gathered to do investigations of haunted places. I will say that getting involved in the paranormal community like this has vastly changed my life (for the better) with the amazing people I’ve met, the friends I’ve made, and the support I’ve received.

What was your dream job when you were in high school?

Don’t laugh at me…but I used to play travel agent all the time. I always thought it would be cool to book other people’s travel and help them explore the planet. Ironically, even though my BA is in Advertising, I have spent a majority of my professional career as a meeting planner, planning corporate events and travel. So, I guess I sort of grew up to do my dream job as I’m planning travel for four executives here at my company every day. Then…to add to that, in high school, I wanted to be a doctor…a psychologist to be specific. Hmmm…maybe I would have found my way into the paranormal after all, dealing with psychic kids? LOL!

What are some exotic places you’ve been to while traveling?

I don’t know if I’d call them “exotic,” but certainly interesting! I’ve been to The Queen Mary in Long Beach, CA, the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, CO, Rolling Hills Sanitarium in Bethany, NY, Waverly Hills Sanitarium, in Louisville, KY, and the Palmer House Hotel in Sawk Centre, MN. Not exactly your high spots for tourist destinations, but each had their own uniqueness to them and provided great experiences.

Which is one haunted location you have yet to visit and would love to visit?

Although I’ve been to Paris three times, I’ve never had the chance to explore the underground catacombs that date back to the 18th century. The catacombs are massive tunnels full of human bones that the Parisians set up in 1785 when the cemeteries became too full. It’s now a “tourist” destination, but imagine the EVPs you could get in the tunnels. Imagine the energy that’s down there. Wow…

What advice would you give to someone who encountered a ghost?

Interesting question. Everyone’s encounters and experiences are different. I would say to breath, remain calm, be open to the experience and document it in any way that you can whether it be with your camera or a video or a voice recorder. Then, write down everything you experienced…smells, sounds, etc., so you have a record of it. Share your experiences, too. They’re quite special, I’ve found.

What book(s) are you working on right now?

Working on GHOST HUNTRESS: THE REASON right now! And have a blast with it.

Check out this hilarious spooky video interview!

Thanks Marley, it was fun having you. Marley was oh so sweet to provide a signed copy of Ghost Huntress: The Awakening to one lucky winner.

CONTEST INFO

Open to US residents only
Contest ends 15 June
To qualify to enter, you must have a review blog!
To enter, just comment below. Try not to comment multiple times please.

To get extra points:
+1 link to the contest on your sidebar
+1 follow me on Twitter
+3 watch the video (link above) and comment with your thoughts on it.
+4 become a follower of Read This Book!

Buy Ghost Huntress: The Awakening today! You can read my review of it here.

Comments on: "Interview with Marley Gibson and contest" (11)

  1. Marley is such a sweetheart! Gr~8 interview. I had a blast w/ her a few months ago :}. Funny, too.

  2. Enter me! I’m already a follower on your blog and twitter.
    bball11kt@sbcglobal.net

  3. This is a great interview! You’ve definitely piqued my interest this book. I’d love to be entered. I’ve linked to this contest in my sidebar. Thanks!

    stephxsu at gmail dot com

  4. It sounds really nice to have your book published, except for the rejection parts. Those are scary!
    Ghost haunting sounds so cool! Ever since Ghostfacers from Supernatural (tv show) it’s interested me quite a bit which is the main reason I REALLY want to read this new series.😀

    watched the video: hahaha ridiculously funny! And the lady getting snatched by a ghost. Then the lady not caring. Sooo funny!
    I already follow you on twitter
    I became a follower🙂

    Thanks for the awesome contest!

  5. I would love to enter!!🙂

    +1 link to the contest on your sidebar
    +4 for following through Google Reader

    Thanks for the contest.

  6. I would love to enter. This books sounds real interesting, king of reminds me of the show Supernatural which I love.
    Thanks🙂
    bookbutterfly9@gmail.com

  7. Great interview! Please enter me

    🙂 Erica
    thebookcellar@wi.rr.com

  8. Great interview. Sounds like a great book.

    I am a follower in Google Reader.

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  9. I’m the last person without twitter (or close to it) so I can’t do anything about that but I am adding the blog to my Google Reader subcriptions and I watched to Author Talk video and loved it! I’ve seen parts of a few of them but that one was super cute😀 and now I’m curious where that haunted hotel is, too…. I’ll try to add the link to my sidebar and will comment if I do🙂

    How can I not want to read this book–I love Chicago, I love Southern set books, and I love ghost stories–put the all together and they’re fantastic possibilities!

    book.splot[at]gmail[dot]com

  10. Enter me please!

  11. maxbrown94 said:

    This book sounds awesome! I’d love to enter.

    +1 I posted and sidebarred the contest. http://maxsbooksandthings.blogspot.com/2009/06/win-ghost-huntress-awakening.html

    +1 I’m following you on Twitter. My name is MaxBrown94.

    +3 The video was so cute!!!! They seem like really fun people, and the book sounds really good. The kind of thing I’d love.

    +4 I’m following. Subscriber on WordPress. I’m MaxBrown94.

    Thanks!!
    Max.

Leave a Reply

