YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

In My Mailbox (10)

This week I did not get anything in the mail and I didn’t buy anything. However I borrowed two books.


Wings by Aprilynne Pike
Laurel was mesmerized, staring at the pale things with wide eyes. They were terrifyingly beautiful—too beautiful for words.

Laurel turned to the mirror again, her eyes on the hovering petals that floated beside her head. They looked almost like wings.

In this extraordinary tale of magic and intrigue, romance and danger, everything you thought you knew about faeries will be changed forever.


Fortune’s Folly
Ever since her mother died and her father lost his shoemaking skills, Fortunata has survived by telling fake fortunes. But when she’s tricked into telling a grand fortune for a prince, she is faced with the impossible task of fulfilling her wild prophecy—or her father will be put to death.
Now Fortunata has to help Prince Leonato secure a magic sword, vanquish a wicked witch, discover a long-lost golden shoe, and rescue the princess who fits it. If only she hadn’t fallen in love with the prince herself!

What did everyone get this week?

Comments on: "In My Mailbox (10)" (17)

  1. Awesome books you got this week, Wings sounds like a really good book. Enjoy.

  2. Callie (Handle Like Hendrix) said:

    I hope you enjoy your books. Wings looks beautiful!

  3. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Wings. Haven’t heard anything about Fortune’s Folly, but I hope you enjoy. Happy reading!!

  4. I loved Wings– I’m sure you will greatly enjoy it! Happy reading!!

  5. I really enjoyed wings and I hope you like it also.

  6. I have heard great things about Wings! Hope you enjoy! 🙂

  7. Wings was fabulous, but you’ll probably be mad you have to wait for the sequel! I know I was. What a fun book.

  8. I’m looking forward to reading Wings soon. Enjoy it!

    Here’s mine:

    http://thebookresort.blogspot.com/2009/05/oohh-books.html

  9. Both Wings and Fortune’s Folly are amazing! Happy Reading Kate!! 🙂

  10. Great books! Happy reading!

  11. Wings sounds so good. Happy reading!

  12. I really enjoyed Wings. The debut authors this year are all kinds of awesome!

  13. harmonybookreviews said:

    Wings looks really good. I love the cover.

    Enjoy!

  14. Fortunes folly looks super cute-my type of read. Enjoy it!
    -amy

  15. Wings is a good book, I hope you enjoy it 🙂

  16. Enjoy both books! Fortune’s Folly is very cute 🙂

  17. I’ve heard great things about Wings – it’s in my pile. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

