YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Caution: This review may contain spoilers if you have not read the Private/Privilege series.

    After wasting away in a mental institution for a year and a half, Ariana Osgood is finally back where she belongs. She has a new look, a new name, and a new life — all thanks to her former friend Briana Leigh Covington.

    Now enrolled as a junior at the exclusive Atherton-Pryce boarding school just outside of D.C., Ariana sleeps in Frette sheets, flirts with the captain of the crew team, and gossips with the most beautiful girls on campus. She killed to get back her life of privilege. Just how far will she go to keep it?

    From the author of the bestselling Private novels comes a series about the dark world of wealth, secrets, and privilege.

I loved the first book in the Privilege series and was hoping this book would be just as good. Beautiful Disaster met my expectations in some areas, however, some parts were slow and you just wished something exciting actually happened. Unlike the first book, BD was not as suspenseful. The book is set in Arianna’s new school in which she assumes a brand new identity and look. Without revealing too much, I shall put it this way. There are moments where I want to skip everything and jump straight to the end to know what happens. But knowing Kate Brian, I will miss out a lot if I skip those pages. ;] So I forced myself to read everything and it was quite satisfying. I won’t say the ending surprised me because I was pretty dubious about someone’s intentions from the start. In Beautiful Disaster, Ariana makes readers sympathize with her more and readers will find themselves rooting for Ariana!

Kate Brian does it again. She successfully ends the book with a cliffhanger which will assure you readers that there are many more Privilege books to come. And leaves you breathless for the next book, Perfect Mistake coming October 27, 2009. Overall, I would say that Beautiful Disaster was good, but not very fantastic. Still, I enjoyed it and definitely looking forward to reading the rest of the books in the series.

Preorder your copy of Beautiful Disaster on Amazon today. In stores June 2, 2009.

Silver Star

Here’s Kate Brian’s reply to my review. OMG!!

Kate_Brian @readingthisbook THANK YOU! And thx for the positive review on your site! I KNOW you’re going to love all the suspense in Perfect Mistake!

Comments on: "Beautiful Disaster by Kate Brian" (7)

  1. I can’t wait to start this series… I’ve got Privilege on my bookshelf, but I keep bumping it down on the list for some reason…

  2. Oooh sounds soo good! I can’t wait to get a chance to read it. I thought the first one was really good.

  3. Nice review. From a mental institution huh? Interesting!

  4. Kate Brian writes great YA novels and i like the idea of the dark side of boarding school.

  5. I think the first line about her having wasted away in a mental institution for the past year and a half is what made me sit up straight! This sounds like an interesting series… one I need to start from the start. *groan* I have too many books I want to read! *writes it on list*

  6. I LOVED Privilege, and Beautiful Disaster too. I feel the same way as you in a way, I’d probably give Privilege 5 stars, & BD 4, & Perfect Mistake 3 1/2. Speaking of which, have you read Perfect Mistake yet?

Leave a Reply

