YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

In My Mailbox (8)

In My Mailbox was started by The Story Siren and she was inspired by Alea.

What a week! I’ll summarize everything tomorrow but I am holding a contest to win a signed copy of Black Box by Julie Schumacher (no entries = higher chances of winning).

In My Mailbox:

This week the lovely Katie sent me Bad Girls Don’t Die which I won in her contest. I was so excited to get it and now I can’t wait to read it. Thanks so much Katie! Just arrived on Saturday, Julia Hoban sent me a little card! =) You rock Julia!

    Alexis thought she led a typically dysfunctional high school existence. Dysfunctional like her parents’ marriage; her doll-crazy twelve-year-old sister, Kasey; and even her own anti-social, anti-cheerleader attitude.

    When a family fight results in some tearful sisterly bonding, Alexis realizes that her life is creeping from dysfunction into danger. Kasey is acting stranger than ever: her blue eyes go green sometimes; she uses old-fashioned language; and she even loses track of chunks of time, claiming to know nothing about her strange behavior. Their old house is changing, too. Doors open and close by themselves; water boils on the unlit stove; and an unplugged air conditioner turns the house cold enough to see their breath in.

    Alexis wants to think that it’s all in her head, but soon, what she liked to think of as silly parlor tricks are becoming life-threatening—to her, her family, and to her budding relationship with the class president. Alexis knows she’s the only person who can stop Kasey — but what if that green-eyed girl isn’t even Kasey anymore?

From the library:

Project 17 by Laurie Faria Stolarz
The Dust of 100 Dogs by A.S. King
Paparazzi Princess by Jen Calonita
My Life from air-bras to Zits by Barbara Haworth-Attard
Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

I’ve read Project 17 and Wintergirls already. I loved loved loved Project 17. Wintergirls was very emotional but it’s still good. I’ll get my reviews up soon, hopefully. =P

If you haven’t, I’d love you forever if you followed me on Twitter. That’s all. I’d love to hear your opinions of the books.

Comments on: "In My Mailbox (8)" (15)

  1. Looks like you definitely had a good week. Wintergirls is a great book. Enjoy!

  2. Great books!

    I just read my first Jen Calonita book last week, and am totally loving her. Bought another one of her books this week!

  3. They all sound awesome! I also got bad girls don’t die recently. Can’t wait to read that one and Wintergirls..which I still haven’t read, but it’s there. hehe 😀 Enjoy!

  4. Callie (Handle Like Hendrix) said:

    Bad Girls Don’t Die and D100D look good. Wintergirls looks haunting and fantastic. I love SOMHL. Happy reading!

  5. Looks like a good week. Will check back for your reviews.

  6. Bad Girls Don’t Die, Wintergirls, and Project 17 are great books! Hppy Reading!

  7. Bad Girls Don’t Die is great. Can’t wait to see what you think!

  8. I don’t believe I have been lucky enough to read any of the titles. You’ve got a great haul there.

  9. awesome book week! your library carries some great titles! much better than mine! happy reading!

  10. Hiya! You had a very great week. Wintergirls is beautifully written, while being dark and somber. D100D is a great read and I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

  11. You had a great week! Happy reading!

  12. Bad Girls Don’t Die you’ll enjoy – I reviewed it on my blog a while ago. 🙂
    Lucky you, seems like your library’s got some really decent reads! Mine’s… pretty lacking, let’s just say. Happy reading!

    Hmm… Oh My Gods hasn’t arrived yet 😦 But hopefully it’ll get here next week 🙂

  13. Ooh Wintergirls. It’s SO GOOD! I really hope you like it.

  14. Amazing week! I hope you have a fantastic time reading all of them Kate!!! 😀

  15. you will love dust of 100 dogs and wintergirls. one of my fave books this yr

Leave a Reply

