YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

…you start to find that the story becomes cliché. I find myself typing “the story was predictable” or “the story was cliché” in my reviews. I don’t know what to do! I can predict most of the plot in stories these days. What should I do?

It’s really bad of me to keep repeating myself and telling every author their story is predictable. Anyone have any suggestions? And can anyone point to me an article on how to write a good review I’d be very grateful. Thanks!

Comments on: "When you read too many books" (3)

  1. I think that there are a few plot lines that are classic and people think that they’re being novel in what they write, but they’re really falling into a rut, and just putting a new twist on an old story, all the while maintaining its predictability. I don’t think that we need to tell them that as reviewers though – I feel the same way about a lot of books – so I only note when the story twisted and was unpredictable instead of noting that it was predictable, does that even make sense ;op? I’ve felt this way when recommending books to my friends for a LONG time… and I think that the majority of books out there are predictable or cliche… gotta look for the good and new inside.

  2. OH MY GOSH I feel EXACTLY the same way!
    Like Elizabeth Scott’s book Bloom, I read it and I only gave it a 2 out of 5 on my review because I felt like it was too typical. But then whenever I see other reviews of it, everyone thinks it’s a 4 or 5 star material. I know it’s well-written, but to me it was too predictable!

    I don’t know, there are just too many books with unoriginal plots, like you said. But for me, I learn to just make my reviews all the more critical, because if I think it’s predictable, I’m sure plenty of other people will too. Then when I give a 4 or 5 star rating, people would HAVE to know that it’s a good, interesting book.

Leave a Reply

