YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

In My Mailbox (6)

In My Mailbox was started by The Story Siren and she was inspired by Alea.

Before I share with you what I got this week, I shall let you all know what I have in store for May! There will be contests and interviews. Most likely interviews will be on Mondays and they come with something to win! =) Also, I’m hoping to have a Twitter contest this month so follow me on Twitter and get the news first!

Because IMM is my most popular post I shall ask you guys this: Does anyone want to win autograph books by Cathy Cassidy. Cathy Cassidy is the author of Ginger Snaps, Dizzy, Indigo Blue, Driftwood, Scarlett, Lucky Star and her latest book, Angel Cake. Post in the comments if you want to win! Then I might buy an extra copy of her book. xD

This week was alright. Not one of the best weeks in school but I survived! =) Didn’t get anything In My Mailbox or at the library. However I bought three books.


Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway
The wait is over for the paperback of this irresistible, fast-paced, hit-worthy debut!
When funny, charming, absolutely-normal Audrey Cuttler dumps her boyfriend Evan, he writes a song about her that becomes a number-one hit—and rockets Audrey to stardom!
Suddenly, tabloid paparazzi are on her tail and Audrey can barely hang with her friends at concerts or the movies without getting mobbed—let alone score a date with James, her adorable coworker at the Scooper Dooper. Her life will never be the same—at least, not until Audrey confronts Evan live on MTV and lets the world know exactly who she is!

Yay!! I shrieked when I saw the book and a few people stared at me. I did not expect to see it in the bookstores! I did not plan on buying it but I did! I can’t wait to read it.


My Big Nose & Other Natural Disasters by Sydney Salter
It’s the end of junior year, and summer is about to begin. The Summer of Passion, to be exact, when Jory Michaels plans to explore all the possibilities of the future–and, with any luck, score a boyfriend in the process. But Jory has a problem. A big problem. A curvy, honking, bumpy, problem in the form of her Super Schnozz, the one thing standing between Jory and happiness. And now, with the Summer of Passion stretched before her like an open road, she’s determined for Super Schnozz to disappear. Jory takes a job delivering wedding cakes to save up for a nose job at the end of the summer; she even keeps a book filled with magazine cutouts of perfect noses to show the doctor. But nothing is ever easy for accident-prone Jory–and before she knows it, her Summer of Passion falls apart faster than the delivery van she crashes. In her hilarious and heartbreaking debut novel, Sydney Salter delivers a story about broadening your horizons, accepting yourself, and finding love right under your nose.

I think the main character and I have something in common. Ginormous noses!


Willow by Julia Hoban
Seven months ago, on a rainy March night, sixteen year- old Willow’s parents died in a horrible car accident. Willow was driving. Now her older brother barely speaks to her, her new classmates know her as the killer orphan girl, and Willow is blocking the pain by secretly cutting herself. But when one boy —one sensitive, soulful boy—discovers Willow’s secret, it sparks an intense relationship that turns the “safe” world Willow has created for herself upside down.

Told in an extraordinary fresh voice, Willow is an unforgettable novel about one girl’s struggle to cope with tragedy, and one boy’s refusal to give up on her.

I read a bit of Willow at the bookstore on Thursday, debating whether to buy it or not. I chose not to buy it. But between Thursday and Saturday, Willow kept haunting me. I kept Googling for reviews and most of them gave Willow an A. How can I say no? The book is practically calling my name! So I returned to the bookstore and bought my copy! It was very expensive and mind you, it’s recession now. I hope the book doesn’t disappoint me! I’ve bought sooo many books this few weeks. I really need to stop buying.

That’s all I got this week. Let me know what you think of these books! =)

Comments on: "In My Mailbox (6)" (19)

  1. I got Willow this week too. Excited to read it!

  2. I hope you love Audrey, Wait like I did. I am really excited to read your review on Willow. I have heard many great things about Julia Hoban’s debut and it’s always great to hear another perspective. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I have sure heard a lot of goods things about Willow, and that first book looks funny 😀

  4. Audrey, Wait! is a fantastic read, I enjoyed it a lot and hope you will too!
    best,
    Marjoline

  5. loved Audrey Wait!

  6. I’ve heard good things about these books. Happy Reading!

  7. Oh . WOW . You got WILLOW! I really want to get that one, after hearing sooo much great stuff about it. Happy Reading!

    And of course! Contests in general are great 😉

  8. You had a good week with some very great books. I have heard nothing but wonderful things about willow.

  9. Yay! You got some great books this week. And to make it even better, you bought them! Way to support the authors and book publishing industry! Go you!

  10. Yay for buying Willow. Buying books is hard, but it does help a lot of authors and publishers and stuff like Shalonda said so claps for you!

    Did you enter the huge giveaway? Details for that (willow contest, btw) on my blog in the left hand sidebar under contests…or email me!!

    -Lauren

  11. I heard good things about Audrey, Wait! I should check it later~ 😀

  12. I’ve heard really good things about Audrey, Wait! Happy reading 🙂

  13. Debbie said:

    I would love to win copies of Cathy Cassidy’s Books. I cant wait to read Willow it is by TBR pile. Which is growing out of control.
    Thanks
    Debbie

  14. Callie (Handle Like Hendrix) said:

    You got FANTASTIC books. I can’t wait to read Audrey, Wait! I got MNAOND this week too. Willow is superb!

  15. Great week, I’ve heard good things about all of those books. Enjoy.

  16. You will not be disappointed by Willow! Hopefully you’ll love it! 🙂

  17. i keep looking for Willow and Big Nose… at the bookstore and they’re not there. boo-hoo. i may have to resort to amazon.com or some such online store. enjoy!

  18. I bought ‘Audrey, Wait!’ this week too!

    I would love to win autograph books by Cathy Cassidy. I actually would just like the chance to win her books in general.

Leave a Reply

