YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

The first in a trilogy. Get out your tape recorders, crystals, and extra batteries— you’re about to go where our world meets the spirit world.

In this new series, Ghost Huntress, meet Kendall Moorehead, a seemingly typical teen. When her family moves from Chicago to the small historical town of Radisson, Georgia, her psychic abilities awaken. She’s hearing, feeling, and seeing things that seem unbelievable at first, but with the help of the town psychic, Kendall is able to come to terms with her newly emerging gift. So, together with her new BFF, Celia, Kendall forms a ghost hunting team. They’ve got all the latest technology. They’ve got Kendall for their psychic. Now they’re going to clean up Radisson of its less savory spirits.
The story is fiction. The science is real. Welcome to a new reality.

I was so excited when I heard that I will be getting a ARC of this. I did a little happy dance when I got my book. =) I went to the bookstore two weeks and asked them if they will be ordering the Ghost Huntress. They said it was not released yet but some publishers already had them. Anyway the staff said it depends on the reviews and asked if I’d like to order it. I told them “No need for that!” and then pulled out my shiny copy.

Yesterday, I finished my book and went back to the bookstore and there I saw a stack of Ghost Huntress! I was so pleased.

Here is my review:

The beginning was kind of slow but it got more interesting after Kendall met Celia. From then on, I was hooked! Couldn’t put it down. The story was quite good and I loved how the mystery with Charles was wrapped up nicely. I found the sleepover scene really good as it shows that the girls have fun while ghost hunting! And I wanted to eat chocolate chip cookies badly while reading that. I love the characters, Loreen, Celia, Taylor, Jason.. and Becca was just so funny at times. Celia was like a walking encylopedia! Everyone else had different personalities which made them special. But I felt that Taylor’s character wasn’t developed well enough.

I’m not sure if this was explained in the book and I missed it but why did Jason keep appearing in Kendall’s dream when she has never met him before? I don’t think it was ever explain. I think they have some sort of bond. I shall ask Marley and get back to you guys. Hmm or maybe it will be explained in the second/third book. Edit: Marley replied and she said it was a psychic dream. This happens with certain types of psychics. Theyhave psychic dreams about things that may happen in the future. That’s so cool! I wonder if I am psychic because sometime I dream about something and it really happens. So totally déjà vu!

Next, I noticed how the characters weren’t freaked out by the ghosts. At first, Kendall was so scared of the ghost in her room that she wouldn’t sleep in her room. But she got over it so quickly. The other huntresses weren’t the least bit afraid at all. But I find it a bit unrealisitic because I think if you encountered a ghost you would be a little scared. Well perhaps the characters are all thick skinned. xD Oh and don’t be afraid of the book being too scary, it’s not! =]

Ghost Huntress was certainly very detailed when describing the equipments that ghost hunters use. There is going to be two more books to the series hence the thing between Kendall and Emily was not solved. I recommend Ghost Huntress to everyone who loves a good ghost story. 4.5/5 ghost. 😉

Get Ghost Huntress: The Awakening on Amazon or Barnes & Noble.

GHOST HUNTRESS: THE GUIDANCE (Coming October 2009, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
GHOST HUNTRESS: The REASON (Coming May 2010, Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Comments on: "Ghost Huntress: The Awakening" (3)

  1. I’m reading this book now, and I love the references to Paranormal State and Ghost Hunters!

  2. I absolutely looooove Ghost Huntress book 1!! Talk about how Jason Tillson drives me crazy… Awww!!

  3. uhm,, one last thing.. I can’t believe that this book lasted with me for only 3 days.. I soooo love this..

Leave a Reply

