YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

It's Zombietastic!

It's Zombietastic!

Quiet, unpopular, non-cheerleading Mia is blissfully happy. She is dating super hot football god Rob, and he actually likes her and asked her to prom! Enter Samantha—cheerleading goddess and miss popularity— who starts making a move for Rob. With prom in a few days, Mia needs to act fast. So she turns to her best friend, Candice, and decides to do a love spell on Rob.

Unfortunately, she ends up inflicting a zombie virus onto her whole class, making herself their leader! At first she is flattered that everyone is treating her like a queen. But then zombie hunter hottie Chase explains they are actually fattening her up, because in a few days, Mia will be the first course in their new diet. She’s sure she and Chase can figure something out, but she suggests that no one wear white to prom, because things could get very messy.

Whenever I think of zombies I think of this book and Amanda. I blame that on Amanda. She mentions zombies all the time in her blogs and now I have finally read her new release. Horray! Because you are such a great person I shall go easy on you. I’m kidding. I treat all reviews fairly. No bias reviews, muahahaha. Before I start my review, I shall let ya know my mom commented that the black dress on the cover is similar to the one I wore to my graduation dance three years ago (which I can still fit in!).

Zombie Queen of Newbury High is not a gory horror book, I was reading it at 1AM in the morning but I wasn’t scared at all. In fact sometimes I was laughing. In the beginning, we see how being so madly in love can make you do crazy things, like buy a love potion from a old women who “looks like she was shipped over on the Mayflower” (quote from pg 16) and then find out that everyone has become zombies! So Mia and Chase go on a adventure to put a stop to this before it’s too late. Hey Amanda guess what? Zombie Queen of Newbury High is my fave zombie book! (But well, this is the only zombie book I’ve ever read.)

My only problem with the book was that it was too predictable! I even predicted the twist at the end. But don’t let that stop you from reading the book! It is still excellent. Zombie Queen of Newbury High is a delicious zombie book with a wonderful characters (who I wonder if they taste as good as they are). Not to be missed!

Visit Amanda Ashby on her blog. Order Zombie Queen now at Barnes & Noble and Amazon.

LOOKING FOR PEOPLE TO HOST THE BOOK DISCUSSION FOR Gallagher Girls series.
APPLY NOW!

Comments on: "Zombie Queen of Newbury High by Amanda Ashby" (1)

  1. Yeah this was definitely the funniest zombie books I have read.

Leave a Reply

