YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Thirteen-year-old Celeste Harris is no string bean, but comfy sweatpants and a daily chocolate cookie suit her just fine. Her under-the-radar lifestyle could have continued too, if her aunt hadn’t entered her in the HuskyPeach Modeling Challenge. To get out of it, she’s forced to launch Operation Skinny Celeste-because, after all, a thin girl can’t be a fat model! What Celeste never imagined was that losing weight would help her gain a backbone … or that all she needed to shine was a spotlight.

A hilarious debut featuring friendship, family, mean girls and even celebrity crushes, Celeste’s story is a delicious treat that doesn’t add a pound.

Models Don’t Eat Chocolate Cookies was a light fast paced novel. Unlike the other books I’ve read on modeling (Violet On The Runway), this book was not as deep and serious. It had some hilarious dialogues and there are times you can totally relate to Celeste. I like how there was some internal dialogue between Celeste and Red Bathing Suit Women (you have to read to find out what I mean). The friendship between Sandra and Celeste was predictable. I didn’t like Sandra as a friend. Fair weather friends are never good friends.
*SPOILER*

I totally love it when at the end Sandra wasn’t entirely forgiven and they didn’t become BFFs again. If they did I swear I would throw my book out of the window.

*END SPOILER*

The plot was cliche but it was still enjoyable. This book isn’t those type of New York city models kind of book. So don’t expect it to be all glamourous and scandalous. Preteens and teens will enjoy it.

Read Sarah Maclean’s review on Amazon.

Don’t miss out the book discussion for the Gallagher Girls series.
Join us! It will be great fun!

Comments on: "Models Don’t Eat Chocolate Cookies by Erin Dionne" (3)

  1. Thanks for the review! I’m glad you didn’t throw the book out the window!

  2. Oh my god Erin commented on my blog AND read my review!!! -faints-

    After a few minutes…

    YAY!! Thanks for stopping by. đŸ˜€

  3. It may be cliche but it is definitely a book that I’m interested in for a fun read- Your review was really good I laughed at the throwing of the book.

Leave a Reply

