YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

My head hurts so bad right now. Killer migraine. So shall quickly blog. I’m still waiting reply from Melissa so I shall post Tera’s first. She’s the author of OH. MY. GODS.!



1. As a child, who was your fave cartoon character?

There were so many! My parents called me Bugs (for Bugs Bunny) and George (for Curious George), but I also loved Cinderella. I guess if I have to choose just one all-time favorite it would be Rainbow Brite.

2. Which subject were you least good in, in high school?
Um, sadly, English. I was a science girl and I just didn’t get grammar or literary analysis. Partly, it was because it didn’t seem relevant to my life, and partly it was that I didn’t identify with the books we had to read. I can count on one hand the books I read in school that I actually liked.

3. Did you love or dread Valentine’s Day in high school?

Neither? I was always equal parts hopeful that maybe my crush-du-jour would reveal that he secretly loved me too, and accepting that it was going to be just another day.

4. How were your grades like in high school?
I was a good girl with good grades. Mostly A’s with a few B’s. I was even in all the honors and AP classes.

5. How did you cope with homework?
I was (still am) a serious procrastinator. I always put off homework and papers and studying until the last possible moment. Unless an assignment was longer than about five pages I almost always put it off until the night before it was due. (I don’t necessarily recommend this approach, but it’s a process I still use today with my writing deadlines.)

6. What do you do when you are very stressed?
That depends on the type of stress. If I’m emotionally stressed out, I clean. If I’m just worried or overwhelmed, I go shopping–either at Target or a bookstore. I like to just browse, sometimes without even buying anything. It think it makes me feel better to wander.

7. If someone told you 10 years ago that you would be a writer, what would your reaction be?

When I stopped laughing I would have told them they were sadly mistaken. Ten years ago I had just graduated from college (with a degree in Theatre) and was applying to architecture schools. Writing was definitely not in my plans.

8. What are three things you would bring with you on a deserted island?

1. A water filter–I am not about to dehydrate to death.
2. A device with internet–so I can email for help, check email, and catch up on some TV shows while I wait for my rescue to arrive.
3. A solar charger for item number two–wouldn’t do me any good if the battery runs out.

9. Watching in cinema or renting and watching at home?

Cinema, I guess, although I don’t go nearly as often as I’d like.

10. Hardcover or paperback?
No preference when it comes to reading, but hardcovers sure look awfully pretty on my shelves.

11. Bookmark or dog ear?

Bookmark.

12. Public transport or car?
Depends on the city. In Houston and Los Angeles, definitely car. In New York and Boston, public transport.

13. Vacation in Alaska or vacation in Rome?

Since I’ve already been to Alaska, I’ll say Rome. But I’d go to Alaska again, too.

14. Who are some of your favorite YA authors?

This is such a hard question! I’m going to leave personal friends out of the equation and just base it on the books. My overall favorite is Jaclyn Moriarty–she could write the phone book and I’d read it. Twice. She walks on water as far as I’m concerned. And my favorite book–and has been for a while–is FLY ON THE WALL by E. Lockhart.

If you want to win a signed copy of Oh. My. Gods. by Tera Lynn Childs, then comment on this post. I’ll use a random number generator to draw the winner. When commenting, make sure you state what your number is. For example:

Great interview Kate!
Comment: #1

And so the next person who posts will be #2.

Stay tuned for the last part of the interview! Full details on the contest can be found here. Anyone in the world can enter!

If you missed out the earlier interviews here they are!
Part one: books
Stephanie Hale
Melissa Walker
Tera Lynn Childs

Part two: high school experience
Stephanie Hale

Tera Lynn Childs
Melissa Walker

Part three: get to know the author

Stephanie Hale

Comments on: "Interview with Tera Lynn Childs part three" (12)

  1. Nice interview, she sounds a lot like myself!
    Comment #1

  2. I didn’t know we had a lot in common either!

    Comment #2

  3. Do you think, next time you’re feeling stressed, you would like to come clean my house – I’ve got no time since I procrastinated all that paperwork…..

    Comment #3

  4. Hardcovers do look really pristine and pretty on bookshelves! When organizing/arranging my bookshelf, it really bothers me when there’s paper backs of diffferent sizes beside each other. So then I have to go according to size sometimes too. 😉

    Comment #4

  5. Oh wow, Curious George is so cute!

    Comment #5

  6. I LOVE Jaclyn Moriarty!! It’s so cool to see someone else that loves her, because most people I talk to about books have never read anything by her. One of my favorite books of all time has got to be The Year of Secret Assignments. It’s a book that really got me to love reading. I also loved The Murder of Bindy Mackenzie, by her as well!

    Awesome interview, I thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Comment #6

  7. Ah, I hate dog ear-ing books! It’s just wrong.
    Comment # 7
    bball11kt@sbcglobal.net

  8. I am also a procrastinator. No matter how much I tell myself to stop procrastinating. Is there even a cure? Hehe Thanks for stopping.

    Comment #8

  9. It’s interesting how a science girl became a writer. I guess we just never know what will happen. Nice interview! : )

  10. Yay for Bugs Bunny!

    Comment #9

  11. Comment: #10

    Fun interview 🙂
    I have never heard of Fly on The Wall but shall check it out 😀

  12. Us procrastinators work together. Haha.

Leave a Reply

