YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Fade by Lisa McMann

For Janie and Cabel, real life is getting tougher than the dreams. They’re just trying to carve out a little (secret) time together, but no such luck. Disturbing things are happening at Fieldridge High, yet nobody’s talking. When Janie taps into a classmate’s violent nightmares, the case finally breaks open–but nothing goes as planned. Not even close. Janie’s in way over her head, and Cabe’s shocking behavior has grave consequences for them both.

Worse yet, Janie learns the truth about herself and her ability. And it’s bleak. Seriously, brutally bleak. Not only is her fate as a Dream Catcher sealed, but what’s to come is way darker than she’d even feared…

Be caution: this review contains spoilers

Fade Fade Fade. How do I begin to describe it. I would say Fade was an interesting book. I won’t say I loved it like everyone else did. Firstly, the Wake trilogy is written in present tense, so if you do not like books in present tense, then I say don’t read them. The plot for Fade is simple but there are some intense scenes. Also in Fade, readers learn the disadvantages of being a Dream Catcher and the outcome of being one.

I have a few problems with the book, I found myself wondering whether Captain was a women or a man at times. Janie and Cabel calls Captain sir, thus I assume it’s a men. But at times, Janie refers to Captain as “she” and Lisa describes Captain’s actions with “she”. So I get really confused. If Captain was a women, why didn’t Janie and Cabe call her Madam.

*SPOILER BELOW*

Another thing that bugged me, wasn’t there suppose to be only one sexual predator and not three…?

*End of spoiler*

Will I buy Fade? No. Will I read Gone? Yes, but I’ll borrow it from the library. If you loved Wake, I suggest you reading Fade and Gone (released in 2010). I encourage everyone to discuss the book in the comments section and let me know what you think. I would love to hear your opinions of it. Don’t be afraid to speak your mind!

Side note: It is not too late to enter my comment and you shall be rewarded contest to get extra points (ends Sunday night which is tonight 11:59 PM GMT -5).

Drop by their sites: Tera Lynn Childs, Melissa Walker, Stephanie Hale

Comments on: "Fade by Lisa McMann" (6)

  1. Ahh, I think Fade is on its way to me in the mail, so I’ll have to check out the review at another time, to avoid spoilers 😉 Haven’t read Wake yet either though…

  2. I’ve read both Wake and Fade. I just read Fade a few days ago. I agree with you on the spoiler’s part. What also bothers me is that the relationship with Cabe and Janie, is somehow describable, yet sometimes not there…

  3. Ahh I still haven’t read Wake or Fade yet, so I’m not going to read the review yet 😉 Haha but Wake right now is probably the book that I want to read the most, but I never get the chance to go to a bookstore or library because school! Augh I want to read that book so bad!

  4. Captain is a female but out of respect they say sir, plus all of the officers say sir. I’ve known females that expect you to call them sir. I just grabbed my copy of Wake—
    page 159 of Wake:

    “Yes, sir,” Cabel says.
    Janie looks up, wondering if Cabe means to call her that. It doesn’t seem to bother the captain.
    (later on that page)
    Janie starts. “Yes,ma’am…sir,”she says.
    Captain smiles.

    SPOILER

    They thought that there was only one sexual predator. The twist was that the three teachers were working together and preying on all of the unsuspecting girls at the parties. Janie was as surprised as the reader that the three of them were preying on the girls. Well, I thought that it was two of the teachers working together, I didn’t think that the gym teacher was part of it.

    END SPOILER

    Well, that’s too bad that you didn’t like it as much as other people. Personally I loved it.

  5. I really want to read fade. It is unfortunate that it did not reach your expectations and became confusing. I understand your review though I skipped the spoiler section.

Leave a Reply

