YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Privilege by Kate Brian

MOST GIRLS WOULD DIE FOR A LIFE OF PRIVILEGE….
SOME WOULD EVEN KILL FOR IT.

Ariana Osgood ruled exclusive Easton Academy — until she was arrested for murdering Thomas Pearson. She’s spent the past two years at the Brenda T. Trumbull Correctional Facility for Women plotting her escape and is determined to get a second chance at the glamorous life she left behind. And Ariana will do anything to get her way….

From the author of the bestselling Private novels comes a new series about the dark world of wealth, secrets, and Privilege.

I am very pleased with this book. I had expected to be boring as it would be Ariana’s life in prison but it was so much better! Oh my, it was fantastic. Throughout the book, you don’t know who to trust. Readers will find themselves understanding Ariana’s plight. I was not a fan of Ariana in Last Christmas but after reading Privilege, it changed my perspective of her! I was reading Privilege non stop, I could not put it down! If you thought Nancy Drew was good, try Gossip Girl + Nancy Drew = Privilege and Private novels! If you enjoyed the Private series, I definitely recommend you to buy Privilege. =)

I strongly recommend you to read at least the first four books in the Private series before reading Privilege if not you would not understand the story.

Awesome authors you might like: Melissa Walker, Stephanie Hale, Tera Lynn Childs

Gold star!

Comments on: "Privilege by Kate Brian" (8)

  1. I have heard mixed reviews about this series. I can’t decide if I will like it. I have read all the Private books including Last Christmas and I love all those so I guess I will just have to give it a shot. Thanks for the great review!

  2. I was surprised at how much I liked this book too. I love the Private series, but I’m not usually good with spin-offs or prequels, because I get them confused, but I love how this one was a spin-off, but it didn’t have much in common with the Private series other than the main character is in it. I think I liked it so much because I couldn’t confuse the two series’.

    hope.

  3. Oh my gosh, I can’t believe I still haven’t read the Private series! I feel so out of the loop since everyone’s read that series and have already gone to Privilege, haha. I’ll be sure to put the Private series and Privilege at the top of my wishlist!

  4. Ah, I can’t wait to read this. I loved the Private series so this one is def. going on my shopping list. =]

  5. I don’t think I’ve actually read a full book by Kate Brian yet, but I’ve heard some pretty good things about her work. This series is kind of similar to Gossip Girl, the au pairs, the Ashleys, etc. right?

    • It’s similar to Gossip Girl because it has a lot of brand names. Not similar to The Ashleys at all. The Ashleys are younger than Reed, Ariana, Noelle (from Private novels) and in Private novels, there are some *ahem* scenes and murder. I recommend people above 14 to read Private novels.

      I was very shocked when I saw my 11/12 year old friend reading Last Christmas which is so R rated.

  6. My friends have read these books. She wonders how these girls in a private school can stay straight and not gay…

  7. I honestly couldn’t put this down either! The Private and Privilege series’ covers don’t do them justice I.M.O.

Leave a Reply

