YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

The ABC's of kissing boys Parker Stanhope has played soccer practically since she could walk. And now that she’s a high school junior, everything she’s worked for is finally coming together. She’s paid her dues on the field, and as an upperclassman, she’s a shoo-in for the varsity team. But that’s not what happens.

This year, Coach Hartley moved up every JV player but two—and one of those two was Parker. Now, she’s stuck with the freshmen, her friends are cutting her loose, and her love of the game is seriously beginning to fail. But Parker is determined to get her life back. She has to get on the varsity team, and she has the perfect plan. All she needs now is the right kind of coach.

I am quite fond of the cover, it’s simplicity and beauty. What I love about the book was the different kissing techniques. Especially the Steam Kiss which should be done behind closed doors. ;] The book has a predictable plot but I guess that is inevitable since the plot if pretty straightforward. I was confused in the beginning, I did not understand what a JV player was. But after few more pages, I understood what it was and instantly understood the story. The ABC’s of Kissing Boys is a short and sweet read. I would recommend for pre-teens or teens aged 13-15.

Awesome authors you might like: Melissa Walker, Stephanie Hale, Tera Lynn Childs

Comments on: "The ABC’s of Kissing Boys by Tina Ferraro" (4)

  1. I actually just finished reading this book a couple days ago! I completely agree with your review, I think that it was a short and sweet read. Plus I never even knew about those kissing techniques either, xD. I only knew the butterfly kiss, but I never even heard about the caterpillar or steam one ahaha. For me though, the book seemed a little bit too unrealistic because the high school Parker goes to, it’s so hard to keep a good reputation! I’m a freshman in high school, but I’m friends with lots of upperclassmen, and I definitely wouldn’t say I’m popular or that I’m ruining seniors’ reputations.. Anyways, I also really liked the cover of the book too!

    It was funny when I first got the book though, it came in a package at our door since I won it from a book contest. Then my parents saw the book when I opened the package and they were like, WHAT ARE YOU READING?! Kissing boys?!” It took me awhile to explain to them that it was just supposed to be a funny story… -___-“

  2. I read this book not too long ago and really liked it! I agree with you on the cover. I wonder what kind of lipstick that is?

  3. I actually like the lipstick. XD

  4. I have heard a ton of good things about this book. I guess there is another book to be added to my to-be-read pile. :]

Leave a Reply

