YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Nothing ever happened in Ondine, Louisiana, not even the summer Elijah Landry disappeared.

His mother knew he ascended to heaven, the police believed he ran away, and his girlfriend thought he was murdered. Decades later, certain she saw his ghost in the town cemetery, fourteen-year-old Iris Rhame is determined to find out the truth behind “The Incident With the Landry Boy.”

Enlisting the help of her best friend Collette, and forced to endure the company of Collette’s latest crush, Ben, Iris spends a summer digging into the past and stirring old ghosts, in search of a boy she never knew.

What she doesn’t realize is that in a town as small as Ondine, every secret is a family secret.

Shadowed Summer was a chilling and gripping book. The story is set in a small boring town, I think a lot of stories happen in small towns, like Forks. 😛 Overall, the story was very suspenseful (kept me hooked for hours) and I totally did not predict the ending! It’s a great debut novel for Saundra. Although I think the book could have been longer, it was still good. It is not too scary and I think everyone ages 12 and up will enjoy it. So what are you waiting for? Go and get your copy of SS today! I’m sure readers would love to read more ghost stories by Saundra. :] Tell Saundra what you think of her book too, I’m sure she’d love to hear from all of you.

I regret writing this review so late because I forgot what I initially thought of the book. 😦 Sorry! I forgot what I wanted to write so I basically writing from what I remember.

Next week, I will be posting an interview with Lesley Livingston, author of Wondrous Strange. If you enjoyed Shadowed Summer, enter my contest to win a Shadowed Summer bookmark and a surprise bookmark!

Other cool authors you might like: Tera Lynn Childs, Melissa Walker, Stephanie Hale

Comments on: "Shadowed Summer by Saundra Mitchell" (4)

  1. […] get ‘extra’ entries: Blog about this contest on your site (+1) Comment on my review of Shadowed Suummer (+1) Post a bulletin on MySpace about it (+1) Link to this contest on your sidebar […]

  2. From other bloggers, I’ve heard that this book is chilling. They also said that the book was so unpredictable.

  3. Hmm, sounds intriguing! Haha, nice observation about stories taking place in small towns 😉

  4. I cannot wait to read this one! I’ve read soo many good reviews of it.

Leave a Reply

