YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Hi. I am Kate and I have a problem. My heart is torn between two guys right now. You are probably thinking, “Why is Kate talking about her stupid love life on her book review blog?”. Actually, you may have even met my two crushes. Everyone knows I cried until I flooded my room last year while reading Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater (review), thus making it my favorite read of 2009 and Samuel K. Roth the most dreamy literary crush ever. But this year, I read another book that touched my heart dearly, although no tears were shed. It’s none other than Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta (review). And I have a huge crush on Jonah Griggs.

If you find this post childish/boring/waste of time, feel free to skip this. If not, read on!

Jonah Griggs is the opposite of Samuel Roth. Sam is sweet; Jonah is not afraid to give the finger. Sam writes song lyrics; Jonah fights and throws punches without batting an eyelash. I love this description of North in Brightly Woven, I hope this does not go against any copyright infringement.

To sum up Jonah’s character “He’s just like a stallion. Wild and kicking on the outside, but a heart soft as satin on the inside. Just waiting for the right girl to break him in.”

Here is a scene in which Taylor has a mild asthma attack and Jonah comes to the rescue. It was not a steamy makeout scene and yet I melted and longed to be the one who was leaning against Jonah. Tell me, is he not one of the most swoonworthy literary guys out there?

I feel arms around my chest, a mouth against my ear whispering…whispering… Jonah Griggs whispering… ‘Just breathe, just breathe, come on, Taylor, just breathe… just breathe.’

And here is Jonah and Taylor’s first kiss:

When I turn around, he cups my face in his hands and he kisses me so deeply that I don’t know who is breathing for who, but his mouth and tongue taste like warm honey. I don’t know how long it lasts, but when I let go of him, I miss it already.

The last time I checked, Jonah Griggs does not have any ability to sparkle in the sunlight nor can he read minds. But I will take Griggs over Cullen any day. :)

Here is how I imagine Jonah to look like:

Yup, that is Zach Gilford from the movie Post-Grad. Of course, Jonah Griggs would never play the guitar… but Zach looks rather handsome in that picture, doesn’t he? (FYI: Sam is Logan Lerman.)

With all that being said, Jonah and Sam are both tied for favorite literary guy now. I’ve read and finished Linger by Maggie Stiefvater and Sam still remains as number one. If you have not read Jellicoe Road, please run to your nearest bookstore and pick up Jellicoe Road so that we can all gush about Jonah Griggs.

I shall leave you with one of the many memorable quotes from Jellicoe Road:

“So, like I asked, what’s with the nightie?”

“It smells like what I always think mothers smell like,” I tell him honestly, knowing I don’t have to explain.

He nods. “My mum has one just the same and you have no idea how disturbing it is that it’s turning me on.”

What people are saying about Jellicoe Road:

“Melina has created a story that is as dense as the Aussie bush and just as beautiful. It broke my heart into a thousand pieces and then carefully glued them back together so I couldn’t even tell it had been broken.”
–Carla from The Crooked Shelf

“He’s not supernatural, he’s just supernaturally divine. He’s an ass, a joker, a tough nut, a sensitive soul and a great snogger.”
–Adele from Persnickety Snark on Jonah Griggs

“It ties up beautifully in the end, and there’s a scene which even made me shed a tear — me, who has not cried since THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE (three tears) and while writing my second novel SHIVER (one tear from each eye) — and I’m left feeling just about cheerful about everything in the book though it was not a Hollywood happy ending by any stretch.”
–Maggie Stiefvater author of Shiver, Lament, and Ballad.

“…Time flashes forward…histories bleed together and two generations of friends bear uncanny resemblances to one another. Readers may feel dizzied and disoriented,but …they will find themselves ensnared in the story’s fascinating, intricate structure. A beautifully rendered mystery. “
–Kirkus Starred, USA

Quotes taken from Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken and Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta.

Comments on: "My new literary crush: Jonah Griggs" (9)

  1. Okay. I was on the fence about Jellicoe Road. But, thanks to you, I will read it!! :)

  2. I love your post comparing different literary crushes *swoon* Awesome. Waiting to get my hands on Jellicoe Road :D

  3. Jellicoe Road is one of my favorite Ya books and that kiss between Jonah and Taylor! swoonworthy grade: 5/5

    I haven’t read Shiver but I recently read Secret Society Girl Series by Diana Peterfreund and ended up developing a crush bigger that the one I had on Jonah Griggs and Marcus Flutie.

  4. I LOVED Jonah. Oh MAN, I loved him.

  5. I STILL haven’t read Jelicoe Road, but it is in the mail to me RIGHT NOW so I know I’ll be reading it soon! I’ve heard SO much good about this book.

  6. I just picked Jellicoe Road up at the library a few days ago, and after reading your post I am even more excited to read it. :)

  7. Jonah… *drools*
    I want a Griggs.
    Jellicoe Road is my all-time favorite book. <3

  8. I couldnt agree with you more I am so in love with Jonah Griggs!!!! Ugh If only he could jump out of those pages and into my life! <3

  9. Oh yes! I’m a mother to a Jonah (just to give you an idea of how old I am), and I absolutely fell for the Cadet with the buzz cut, sharp tongue, and strong hands. I read it in one night, even with deadlines looming and kids lunches to fix, and wow. Just wow.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 284 other followers

