YA book reviews, reading and recommending since 2009

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: October 1 2009
Buy it from: Book Depository (free shipping worldwide!)
Gold star! (4.5/5)

Synopsis: For Nora Grey, romance was not part of the plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how much her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch came along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Nora is drawn to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure who to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is, and to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For Nora is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost her life.

Review: After reading the first two chapters on the Simon & Schuster website, I knew I would love this book. And sure enough, I did. It’s not like this topic hasn’t been done before, forbidden romance. However Becca has written a novel with the same idea but the writing is exceptional. Reading Hush Hush was like riding a roller coaster, the story moves in a fast pace and before you know it, it’s over. I long to go back into Patch’s and Nora’s world and experience everything again.

Nora is an excellent protagonist. Like Patch describes her, she’s attractive, intelligent and vulnerable. Her emotions are perfectly captured and portrayed. Patch is a very intriguing guy and more so when he is reluctant to talk about his past. Though he can be provocative –and flirtatious at times, he is very attractive and has this ‘good’ side of him. Despite Nora feeling uncomfortable with Patch, she is drawn to him. Her best friend, Vee, is affable but don’t insult her because she can be rather sharp-tongued!

There is one part towards the end when everything seemed so surreal (hint: that part reminded me of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones), I wanted Nora to run and hug Patch. I wanted to cry during that part, honestly. I can feel Nora’s pain and when she questions her sanity, I got quite a bit emotional at that point.

I hereby declare Patch from Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick my favourite YA guy. Trust me, by the time you are done with Hush Hush, you’ll be like Edward who?

My only problem with Hush Hush is the whole similarity with that vampire book. I completely agree with Steph from Reviewer X. Once or twice I had the déjà vu feeling, personally I feel the book would have been better if the scenes were altered in way that makes it unique ( read Steph’s review here).

Part romance and part mystery, Hush Hush will appeal to both young adults as well as adults. Be sure to buy Hush Hush when it’s out in stores October 2009 or preorder it from Amazon/Barnes and Noble/Book Depository. You bet I am getting Crescendo, but that might take a while since Becca just turned in Crescendo to her editor not too long ago. But not to worry, Hush Hush is a great (great is an understatement) spectacular, extraordinary book by itself, everything wraps up nicely at the end. If you want me to describe Hush Hush I would say it is a stunning riveting phenomenal novel which would keep readers hanging onto every page.

Comments on: "Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick" (32)

  1. This looks like such a good book! I can’t wait to read it!
    -Liz :)

    I Nominated you for an Award!
    http://lizdoglover.blogspot.com/2009/08/lemonade-award-again.html

  2. I just got this book today and I’m LOVING it! Loved your review!

  3. I just finished reading Hush, Hush, and I agree when you said there were parts “that part reminded me of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones.” But overall, I think Becca Fitzpatrick did a good job of making the story her own. The characters were brilliant—(Hello, Patch.)

  4. This is my favorite book so far this year. Thanks for letting others know about it :)

  5. I almost died looking at this cover, its gorgeous.

  6. I loved this book
    great review

  7. I didn’t enjoy Hush Hush as much as you but I can understand why you enjoyed it so much and your review is very well done.

  8. Hush Hush sounds quite good. I like books about angels so when I see this one I’ll definitely pick it up.

  9. This book’s cover is so freaking pretty. I can’t wait to read it!!! You are just another person that gave it good reviews & I think I will really enjoy it!!!

  10. Im dying to read this one, it looks just amazing

  11. 1inseveralbillion said:

    The book cover is indeed very cool. I’m reading this book right now (about 1/3 in) but I’m not sure whether I like it or not (the angel idea is cool though)

  12. Great review! I can’t wait for the sequel!

  13. Another one of those books that is, quite obviously, everywhere you turn–especially in the book blogging world. I don’t know why but I am turned off by books that EVERYONE reviews. I guess I just get tired of seeing them all the time. This does sound good though and it is on my TBR, but for some reason I just hate to follow the crowd and go out of my way to read it. Color me defiant I suppose. Haha.

    Love the cover though…at least the first 50 times I saw it…hehe :]

  14. This book is FANTASTIC. I can’t wait to read the sequel and even more by Becca in the future.

    hope.

  15. Awesome review! I LOVED Hush, Hush! I too, read the first two chapters on the S&S website and was hooked from the moment Patch opened his mouth. Hehe. Patch… hot dang… *fans self* Yeah, who doesn’t like a sexy badboy? And I loved Vee! So funny. The story was brilliant. I am eagerly awaiting Crescendo!!

    The cover is soo gorgeous. And the male model in just those black jeans and sexy wings. Mmhmm. Enough said LOL. Hush, Hush = <3

  16. I bought a copy when I saw it on sale but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I’ve seen some really great reviews and some not so great reviews on this book so I guess I’ll see what its like when I read it myself.

  17. Thanks for the review! I’m interested in getting a copy and I feel even safer buying one with my limited funds now that I know someone enjoyed it so much. :)

  18. Jennifer L said:

    Hmmm. I read your review and a very negative review of this book in the same day. Which to believe? (Doesn’t matter, because the subject matter is something I love reading about, so I’ll get it anyway).

  19. I read the first two chapters on the internet and am hooked! But my mother is stubborn and refuses to buy it! (It’s Not Fare!)

  20. Can’t wait to read this book, too. I’ve been hearing awesome things about it, but then a couple of “I haven’t enjoyed it at all” reviews come up and they have me wondering if maybe the book might be a bit over-rated. I’ll have to judge for myself, I think.

  21. I LOVED Hush Hush! Its one of the best books ive read in a while! Patch=love haha
    i loved the plot and i loved the characters and i love the cover hehe.
    I cant wait for Crescendo <3

  22. Girl, there ain’t nothing wrong with forbidden romance. :) That will never get old.

    The cover is what really intrigues me. It looks like my kind of book.

  23. This book looks really interesting. It looks awsome, and not just the cover. It seems a bit simalr to the twilight saga but I’ll give this book a shot. Hope it’s as good as people say. I can’t wait to see how the sequal turns out, Crescendo. It should come around 2010. YAY!

  24. I like the sound of hush hush,
    but i dont think i’ll like it better than twilight no matter what anyone says!
    And Patch just sounds like a copy of Edward so i DO NOT think i’ll like him better
    i will give it a shot though it sounds quite good!

  25. awesome amazing book , love patch he’s hot. i’ve nearly finished it , i’ll read it again though :) its very addictive.

  26. Ciarra May L. Mejia said:

    ohh..im excited to read this book already…speacially hearing your reviews…lets see

  27. XD

    i loved the book ”hush hush” the minute i saw it in the shop!!
    the cover was so mysterious and i COULDN’T resist getting it…

    Nora and Patch,to me was one of the best YA couple I’ve EVER
    read(and trust me ive read alot!)
    :)) i hope that there’s a next book x)

    -michelle xoxo

  28. I just learnt about this book yesterday while searching for a good read. This came out #1 TEEN pick. The cover caught my attention right away and now I REALLY want to read it!!!

  29. My best freind is reading the book fallen she tells me snipits of it and i want it so bad. but i thgink this book is AWSOME!!! i read it befor so i dont want to give away any of it.

  30. Hush, Hush and its sequel Crescendo are my favorite books! I LOVE these books! Patch sounds so hot and I love Vee! They are very well written characters and I could not put it down once I got started! I recommend this book to everyone who is into the teen forbidden romance.

  31. thus book is amazing

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 284 other followers

